Books #38-40. Daily Kos writers & their recent publications.


American Taliban: How War, Sex, Sin, and Power Bind Jihadists and the Radical RightAmerican Taliban: How War, Sex, Sin, and Power Bind Jihadists and the Radical Right by Markos Moulitsas

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #38
An uncomfortable comparison between today’s religious right extremists – who are no longer considered extremists but are back to running the GOP – and the Taliban of the middle east. Thre’s been not a few critiques of Markos’ terminology here, but hey, if the shoe fits! Certainly the examples that Markos uses are spot on and completely support the title of the book. AN enjoyable read for me, but then, he was preaching to choir for sure 🙂

View all my reviews

The Evolution of Everything: How Selection Shapes Culture, Commerce, and NatureThe Evolution of Everything: How Selection Shapes Culture, Commerce, and Nature by Mark Sumner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #39
A fascinating look at the history of the developing theories and research behind evolution. With flashes forward to present day times when science has been getting beaten around pretty well by – what else? – the religious right (see review of Book #38).

View all my reviews

Changing the ScriptChanging the Script by Daniel Schultz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book #40 – The chapter on abortion opened my eyes to a completely new way of viewing this topic! Certainly in recent years as the pro life movement has experienced a resurgence, I felt the underpinings of it’s anti-feminist sides. But Dan takes it even further to point out how, at it’s core, the attempts to remove a woman’s right to choose are stripping women of equal rights & freedom. There are now GOP candidates for major national political office who advocate having the government essentially become owners of any pregnant woman’s body. They want to be able to order a woman to see every pregnancy through – no matter *what* the circumstances (rape, incest, age etc) – until the baby is born. Of course, after that they could care less what happens to you or the child, but as a woman as long as you are of child bearing age, your body is essentially co-owned by the government. Yeah, like THAT is not an over-reach of government intervention at work!!

View all my reviews

It’s always fun to read book by people who you feel you actually *know*. I’ve met all three of these authors at the various Netroots Nation event & had my books signed by them. It’s even more fun when you realize how damn smart these writers are. Also, a bit intimidating. Still, sometimes I like being able to say “hey, I new you when…” Pastordan in particular. I’ve always said his is the only church I will ever willfully attend. I can also safely say that his is probably the only somewhat Christian flavored book that I will read. That’s because he understands the non believers as well as he understands the scriptures.

Leave a Reply

